From the Pastor | May 7, 2021

May 6, 2021


 7 May 2021

Dear Parishioners,

Several weeks ago I announced the formation of two parish committees: the Parish Council, and the Strategic Planning Committee.

The Parish Council is a consultative body that will advise the Pastor on matters concerning pastoral planning, parish-sponsored programs, and services provided through the various ministries of the parish. While pastoral in nature, the Parish Council will review, evaluate, and propose practical means to accomplish, in as efficient a manner as possible, the mission of the parish, as articulated in its most recent Mission Statement.

The Strategic Planning Committee has been charged with the responsibility of drafting, out of the context of the Mission Statement, a blueprint for a new paradigm of the church in a post-pandemic world. As I wrote in an essay that was published in the e-newsletter and parish bulletin in September 2020, if we, as a parish, are to remain relevant in a world that hungers for understanding and compassion, then we must respond to the injustices and faults that were laid bare during the course of the pandemic. In a post-pandemic world, we cannot simply go back to the ways of the past, including what has been most familiar to us as members of this parish. More should be expected of us and of the Church. A new paradigm is needed. The task of the Strategic Planning Committee is to address this need.

I am delighted to inform you of those parishioners who accepted my invitation to serve on these two committees. The members of the Parish Council are Jim Braniff, Paul Capetillo, Laura DeBoisblanc, Fr. Michael Hilbert, S.J., John Mancuso, Dr. Letty Moss-Salentijn, and Sarah Tintle. The members of the Strategic Planning Committee are Ivan Briggiler, Rosario Conde-Johanek, Holly Curp, Adele Gallo, Fr. Mark Hallinan, S.J., Patti Hogan, Kathy Murnion – Co-chair, Brian Pinter, Jean Santopatre, Jacques Torchon, Eric Van Nostrand – Co-chair, and Scott Warren.

I am very grateful for the willingness of these parishioners to serve on these significantly consequential committees. They have already begun their work in earnest. At the inaugural meetings of both committees, there was the recognition that the success of their work, whether its consideration of the current state of the parish or planning its future, will require the involvement of all parishioners. I encourage you to engage in conversation with these committee members or respond to their requests for your comments when they call upon you. I have no doubt that working together we will model for the Church what it means to be faithful disciples of Jesus Christ in the post-pandemic world we are about to enter.

I think it is appropriate that I also acknowledge two other committees and the lay trustees of the parish who have advised me in a very significant way throughout the course of the pandemic and the significant impact it has had on the finances of the parish. The members of the Parish Finance Committee are Ben Denihan – Chair, Carmen Akella, Iñigo Bengoechea, Frank Colalucci, Danielle Klyap, and Mary Rutherfurd. The members of the Parish Investment Committee are Virginia Gildea – Chair, Hart Claypool, Nick Denefrio, Rich Moreau, and Christian Rocchio. The Lay Trustees are Rose DiMartino and Herb Gstalder. My temporal responsibilities as Pastor are more manageable because of their judicious and prudent advice and counsel.

Finally, I take this opportunity to thank all of you who serve in the many ministries of the parish and those who support us financially or through prayer. We enter a post-pandemic world stronger and more hopeful because of your dedication and commitment to the Church of St. Ignatius Loyola.

Let us join in prayer for the success of the work entrusted to the Parish Council and Strategic Planning Committee. May the Holy Spirit guide them and us in ways that bring greater glory to God!

Sincerely in the Lord,

Fr. Yesalonia