The participation of the People of God in “the work of God.”

Roman Catholic teaching and practice is based on seven sacraments that are seen as mystical channels of divine grace, instituted by Christ. Each is celebrated with a visible rite, which reflects the invisible, spiritual essence of the sacrament.

The word “sacrament” means sign. We believe that each of these sacraments is, in its own way, a signifier that conveys that Christ is reaching out to encounter his followers, and that each sacrament is celebrated at particular times in our lives to communicate grace.


Through the Sacrament of Baptism, we are freed from sin and reborn as children of God. We become members of Christ, are incorporated into the Church, and made sharers in the Church’s mission. Through the waters of Baptism, sin is forgiven and the new Christian, having died with Christ, rises to new and everlasting life.

Read More


St. Ignatius offers a seven-week course to prepare for the confirmation of Baptized Catholic adults who have received First Eucharist. This course is offered every spring, shortly before the bishop comes to our Parish to confirm eighth graders in our parochial school.

Read More


The Sacrament of Reconciliation is an experience of God’s forgiving love that not only absolves us from past failures but, more importantly, provides God an opportunity to gift us with grace to make better choices in our future. This sacrament also provides an individual with an opportunity, in absolute confidentiality, to discuss particular areas of personal concern with a priest.

Read More

Our four children were Baptized at St. Ignatius Loyola and each time touched our hearts as parents and felt so thankful and blessed. As our children grow, they enjoy looking at their Baptismal pictures and hearing their own special story and the importance of being welcomed into the Church.

Brigid Hutchinson


Jesus was a genius! He not only taught us that love of God and neighbor are equally important, he gave us a revolutionary way to combine the two. He made the universal sign of human friendship and love – a meal together – the sign as well of our love for God.

Read More


The Vocation of Marriage is the divine call to show forth the love of God for the world in the love of husband and wife for each other.
The bride and the groom at the wedding are themselves the “ministers” of this sacrament. For Roman Catholics, a priest or deacon must witness the marriage with two other witnesses (normally the best man and maid of honor).

Read More

Anointing of the Sick

The focus here is on the possibility of a spiritual or physical healing but other aspects of the person’s health also are considered. Many times, the spiritual healing is far more dramatic than the physical healing, and sometimes there is an increased ability to accept the physical illness and its suffering.

Read More


The death of a loved one, whose life has been a major part of our own, can be a soul-wrenching experience. We need help to find ways to carry on with our lives. The Catholic Church has sacred rituals that help us deal with the death of a loved one. These rituals, by invoking our Christian faith, give due honor to the deceased and also bring comfort to those who grieve.

Read More